Working Parties & Communities of Practice

Get involved – have input into your membership association  

SOCAP Australia members can participate in working parties, which provide direction and guidance for the SOCAP Board and office. This list is subject to change without notice as personnel and availability change.
Leadership and Advocacy Working Party – providing guidance on membership and thought leadership for SOCAP Australia

Convenor: Tina Dougherty, WorkCover NSW

Members: Jane Pires, Energy and Water Ombudsman Queensland

Symposium Working Party – providing industry specific advice in preparation for the Annual SOCAP Symposium

Convenor: Simon Tracy: NRMA Safer Driving School

Members: Peter Plustwik, IAG; Simon Tracy, NRMA; Andrew Gavrielatos, NSW Fair Trading; Bill Dee, Consultant; Linda Van Gent, Bankwest; David Parsons, NRMA, Sarah Dunworth, Commonwealth Bank

Industry Awards Working Party – to assist the SOCAP office with the Annual Awards process including scope, nominations, judging and running of the Awards held in conjunction with the Symposium

Convenor: Jane Pires, Energy and Water Ombudsman Queensland

Members: Caroline Lovett, Energex; Peter Plustwik, IAG; Debbie Gabreal, IAG; Linda Van Gent, Bankwest

Government Working Party – a discussion group for those working in the government sector. This group meets monthly via teleconference

Convenor: David Brockman,TIO

Members: Victor Bobrowski, ATO; John Hall, DVA; Elizabeth Lanyon, Consumer Affairs Victoria; Tim Abberton, Air Noise Ombudsman; Kate Burmester, Air Noise Ombudsman; Andy Rodger, IRD NZ; Adam Cooper, IRD NZ; Jenny Pakula, Legal Service Commissioner; Kerry Edgecombe, Sydney Water; Andrew Gavrielatos, NSW Fair Trading; Philippa Rezos, Legal Profession Complaints Committee; Tina Dougherty, WorkCover NSW; Peter Butler, ATO; Brian Bauer, Office of Fair trading QLD;

Consumer Affairs Consumables Interest Group (CACIG) – a working group for those in customer care in the fast moving consumer goods sector

Chris Wilson Johnson & Johnson Pacific; Miriam Brown Wrigley; Anne Manchester, Kellogg; Lisa Handley, Johnson & Johnson Pacific; Karen Andrews, Nestle Australia; Megan Darragh, Nestle Australia; Judy West, George Weston Foods; Amanda Reiss, Wrigley; Aida Mesanovic, Unilever; Amy Birrell, Cerebos; Paige Hammond, General Mills

Communities of Practice (COP)

Communities of Practice are free member only events held on a regular basis in each state for complaint and consumer professionals to join together with peers to share knowledge and network with other people working in consumer affairs to hear from others across industries and the private and public sector on complaints management issues and best practice.


Caroline Lovett, Energex; Jane Pires, Energy and Water Ombudsman Queensland; Bryan Cook, Ashdale Workplace Solutions; Helen Poropat, Review, Respond, Resolve; Jo Ucukalo, Handle My Complaint


Loraine Dartnell, NRMA; Debbie Gabreal, IAG; Nathan Smith, Commonwealth Bank; Dean Colton, Qantas; Shelley Davis Virgin Mobile; Sarah Dunworth, Commonwealth Bank.


Linda Van Gent. Bankwest; Bernadette Hall, Kleenheat; Gayle Williams, P&N Bank, Tania Bolton RACWA; Sharon Foster, RACWA


Katrina Jenkins, SA Power Networks; Sandy Canale, EWOSA; Carmen Hickey, ATO


Danielle Grehan, Origin Energy; Anna Woods, ANZ; Simon Harding, AGL Energy Ltd

To discuss how you can be involved, call us on 02 8095 6426 or email